Senate Democrats Announce Leadership Roles for Next Term

Gregory Selected for Top Dem on Appropriations

LANSING – State Senate Democratic Leader-Elect Jim Ananich (D-Flint) announced appointments today for additional caucus roles next session. Senator Vincent Gregory (D-Southfield) has been tapped to serve as the ranking Democrat on the Appropriations Committee, Senator Hoon-Yung Hopgood (D-Taylor) as Associate Senate President Pro Tempore, Senator-elect David Knezek (D-Dearborn Heights) as Caucus Chair, and Senator-elect Curtis Hertel (D-East Lansing) as Caucus Whip.

“Every member of our caucus will serve an important role shaping policy and strategy moving forward,” said Ananich. “These appointments help make sure Senate Democrats continue to be a strong voice advocating for Michigan families.”

Additional appointments include Senator Steve Bieda (D-Warren) as Assistant Democratic Leader, Senator Coleman Young (D-Detroit) as Assistant Democratic Floor Leader, Senator Gregory as Assistant Democratic Caucus Chair, and Senator Virgil Smith (D-Detroit) as Assistant Democratic Caucus Whip.

More news:

Sen. Ananich on open carry ban at polling locations Sen. Ananich on MDHHS Epidemic Order Sen. Ananich on Supreme Court’s Emergency Powers Ruling

Subscribe to my e-newsletter!

Sign up to be the first to know what I'm doing to build a thriving community and fight for you.

First Name is required

Last Name is required

Email Address is required

Zip Code is required

We take your privacy seriously. View our Privacy Policy.